Who is Martin Luther?   Leave a comment

Nick Baines's Blog

This is the script of this morning’s Thought for the Day on BBC Radio 4’s Today programme:

I went into a bookshop last week to get a book I’d seen reviewed and, on a first look around the ground floor, couldn’t find it. So, I went to the assistant and asked if they had the new biography of Martin Luther by Oxford academic Lyndal Roper. The conversation went something like this:

“You mean Martin Luther King?”

“No, I mean Martin Luther.”

“I’ve never heard of him. Who is he?”

“He was a German monk who set off the Reformation in Europe.”

“A German monk? He’s probably in ‘Religion’.

Eventually I went upstairs anyway and found it myself under ‘German History’.

Well, I was a little alarmed about this. Not so much because of the religious illiteracy it demonstrated, but the historical ignorance. When I tweeted this exchange, a friend…

View original post 354 more words

Posted August 29, 2016 by TeamBritanniaHu in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

